Senior Signings

Danny Polk

College coaches can officially begin
the recruiting process by contacting
their prospects after September
1st of their junior year. But for most
athletes, it has been a process in the
making for nearly their entire lives.
On National Signing Day, four Hanover
standouts realized their dreams
and made commitments to play at the
next level.
Caroline Crowder, a four-year
starter in goal for the girls’ soccer
team, signed her National Letter of
Intent to play for Longwood University.
As a freshman, Crowder received
second-team all Capital District honors.
She was a Capital District firstteam
performer her sophomore and
junior years. In her junior season she
also earned second-team all Central-
Region honors.
“I was recruited by Gardner-Webb
in North Carolina and I was about to
take that, but my mom convinced me
to give Longwood a chance,” Crowder
said, “I walked onto the campus and I
absolutely fell in love; I met the team
and they were already like family.”
Crowder, like many prospects,
began her college search junior year.
She verbally committed to Longwood
in April of 2013.
“The recruiting process really began
sophomore year when the college
coaches started showing up to tournaments,”
Crowder, who plays for the
nationally regarded Richmond Kickers
travel team, said. “During junior
year I knew at every tournament I
had to be performing really well.”
Hanover ace pitcher Derek Casey
signed with the University of Virginia.
The hard throwing right-hander
led the Hawks en route to their first
ever state title. He was recognized
as a first-team Capital District, firstteam
Central Region, and first-team
Richmond Times Dispatch All-Metro
pitcher after his junior season. He
pitched in every game of the state
tournament including a complete
game shutout in the quarterfinals, a
save in the semi-final, and six innings
allowing one run in the state championship.
He finished the season with a
0.89 ERA. For Casey, UVA was a clear
choice.
“Since I was young I had always
gone to watch UVA play baseball and
I would dream about having the opportunity
to play there one day,” he
said, “When I began the whole recruiting
process and I was invited to
the campus, I immediately knew it
was the place for me.”
Swimming team standout Sarah
Browning had three full ride offers on
the table come National Signing Day
before she decided to go with Liberty
University, who competes in the Atlantic
Coast Conference in swimming.
“I love the coaches and the team;
they were really inviting,” she said,
“They’re headed to the top of the ACC
soon.”
Josh Harris, a multi-sport athlete,
signed to play football at Virginia
State University. A wide receiver and
defensive back for the Hawks, Harris
was selected to this year’s Big River
Rivalry game, an all-star game composed
of the area’s best high school
seniors.
“When I visited it was nothing like
I expected,” he said, “I could just see
myself going there and playing football,”
The recruiting process started late
for Harris, who was contacted by Virginia
State’s wide receivers coach Jerry
Taylor. The Trojans are led by head
coach Latrell Scott who formerly succeeded
Mike London at the University
of Richmond.
Underclassmen have also made
some noise recently with their college
decisions as sophomore baseball
players Cayman Richardson and John
Gregory have verbally committed to
play at the University of Virginia and
the University of Richmond, respectively.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

